Schools Free Plone Theme
« February 2015 »

Personal tools

You are here: Home / Faculty & Staff / Phi Delta Kappa


Phi Delta Kappa

The Stephen F. Austin State University Chapter, one of 32 PDK Chapters located in the state of Texas, consists of approximately 50 members. In 2005, this chapter received recognition as the Outstanding Chapter in the state of Texas for its large number of active members and participation in numerous scholarly activities.

About PDK

Phi Delta Kappa, a professional association for educators, serves more than 500,000 members in an extensive network of more than 650 chapters, which are located in the Untied States and Canada as well as in nations throughout Europe and Asia. This association was first founded in 1906, and its international office is located in Bloomington, Indiana.

PDK, a dedicated advocate for public schools, provides a wide range of initiatives to prepare and serve the next generation of educators, including practicing teachers, administrators, and college educators. This international organization publishes the Phi Delta Kappan, the most often cited education journal in the United States, and it also sponsors the annual Phi Delta Kappa/Gallup Poll of the Public's Attitudes Toward the Public Schools.


The mission of Phi Delta Kappa International is to promote high-quality education, in particular publicly supported education, as essential to the development and maintenance of a democratic way of life. PDK accomplishes this mission through visionary leadership, relevant research, and dedicated service.


Members of PDK hold the following beliefs:

Education should be publicly supported,
High-quality education is essential to the development and maintenance of a democratic way of life,
The ethical ideals of leadership, research, and service should be upheld
Leadership should be nurtured and developed, and
A dynamic organization incorporates the needs of its members, is responsive to the environment and trends, and changes as needed.

Professional Membership

Membership applications can be accessed:
CALL: 800-766-1156 or 812-339-1156 
Please specify that you wish to belong to the SFA Chapter # 0162.

PDK/SFASU Chapter Sponsored Events:

Annual Walk for Education
Visiting Scholars
Annual Awards Banquet
Donnya Stephens Education Scholarship: Mr. Jacob Hightower - 2012 Recipient
Thomas Franks Education Scholarship: Ms. Maggie Oberpriller - 2012 Recipient
Betty Alford Education Scholarship: Mr. Beau Johnson Blair - 2012 Recipient
Lee Stewart Educational Leadership Scholarship: Mr. Greg Branch - 2012 Recipient
Sandra Lowery Educational Leadership: Ms. Shelly Slaton - 2012 Recipient

PDK/SFASU Chapter Officers for 2012-2013

Dr. Michelle Williams, President
Ms. Carolyn Stufft, Secretary
Dr. Stacy Hendricks, Vice President Membership
Dr. Jannah Nerren, Treasurer
Dr. Kimberly Welsh, Foundation Representative
Dr. Kerry Roberts, Activities Program and Recognition
Dr. Betty Alford, Advisor
Dr. Pauline Sampson, Advisor
Dr. Mary Catherine Ninos, Publicity
Dr. Jeanie Gresham, Newsletter
Dr. Ralph Marshall, Scholarships

Former PDK/SFASU Chapter Educators of the Year

Dr. Janet Tareilo CURRENT
Dr. Sandra Stewart
Dr. Patrick Jenlink
Dr. Pauline Sampson
Dr. Ralph Marshall
Dr. Julia Ballenger
Dr. John Jacobson
Dr. Melanie McGill
Mr. G. W. Neal
Dr. Donnya Stephens
Dr. Molly Appleberry
Ms. Paulette Wright
Dr. Betty Alford
Dr. Patsy Hallman
Dr. Dan Angel
Dr. Jeannie Gresham
Dr. Mel Finkenberg
Mr. Jimmy Partin
Dr. Ralph Eddings
And others….